User:     Password:    
Forgotten Password?
FEBS-ABC2012 Logo
Nav_arrow Home
Nav_arrow General Information
Nav_arrow Scientific Programme
Nav_arrow Social Programme
Nav_arrow Registration
Nav_arrow Housing & Travel
Nav_arrow Contact
Nav_arrow Past ABC Meetings
go to ABC Protein Researcher Database
go to FEBS

Scientific Programme

Feb 21, 2012: Download the ABC2012 detailed programme here.

Feb 21, 2012: Download the ABC2012 grid here.


ABC2012 will cover the following major topics:

  • Symposium 1: Structural Studies on ABC Transporters - Sunday, March 4, 2012
    (Chair - Kazumitsu Ueda)
  • Symposium 2: The Multidrug Efflux ABC Transporters - Monday, March 5, 2012
    (Chair - Margarida Amaral)
  • Symposium 3: Molecular Mechanisms of ABC Transporters - Tuesday, March 6, 2012
    (Chair - Robert Tampé)
  • Symposium 4: Impact of ABC Proteins in Disease - Wednesday, March 7, 2012
    (Chair - Lydia Aguilar-Bryan)
  • Symposium 5: Diversity of ABC Transporter Function - Thursday, March 8, 2012
    (Chair - Piet Borst)

Keynote Lectures

  • Keynote Opening Lecture
    (Michael Dean) - evening Saturday, March 3, 2012

  • ABC2012 Keynote Plenary Lecture
    (Alfred Schinkel) - Monday, March 5, 2012

  • Final Keynote Address
    (Susan PC Cole) - Thursday, March 8, 2012

  • ABC2012 Summary & Perspective Lecture
    (Tony George) - Thursday, March 8, 2012

Special Workshops

Workshop 1:
ABC Proteins & the Blood-Tissue Interfaces (Wed, March 7)
Chair: Susan Bates
D. Hermann, P. Lockman, Th. Litman

Workshop 2:
Experimental Models to Study ABC transporters (Thur, March 8)
Chair: Karl Kuchler
H. McHaourab, G. Szakacs, B. Poolman, K. van de Wetering, S. Rottenberg

Arrival & Departure

Please note that the official ABC2012 programme will start with the Opening Ceremony on Saturday, March 3 at 7 pm. Registration is open from 10:00 am to 7:30 pm.

The programme ends on Thursday, March 8 in the evening with the Final Keynote Address followed by the Farewell Dinner & Party. Departure day is Friday, March 9!

List of Invited Lecturers & Chairs

Last Update: January 23, 2012

Lydia Aguilar-Bryan John Golin Susan Michaelis Michael Trauner
Margarida Amaral Anika Hartz Murray Norris Kazumitsu Ueda
Susan Bates Dirk Hermann Bert Poolman Ina Urbatsch
Piet Borst Hiroaki Kato Sven Rottenberg Kei Wada
Marc Boutry Kevin Kirk Alfred Schinkel Koen van de Wetering
Richard Callaghan Jan Willem Kok Erwin Schneider  
Liz Carpenter Karl Kuchler John Schuetz  
Jue Chen Takashi Kuromori Dirk Slotboom  
Peter Chiba Oded Lewinson Kenji Sonomoto  
Susan PC Cole Victor Ling Bruno Stieger  
Michael Dean Thomas Litman Gergely Szakacs  
Sian Ellard Paul Lockman Alan Tall  
Tony George Hassan McHaourab Robert Tampé  

Oral Presentations

Oral presentations consist of “Workshop Talks” (17 min. + 3 min. discussion) and “Short Talks” of 12 min + 3 min. discussion). The SAB selects all oral presentations for afternoon and evening sessions based on submitted abstracts.

Please deliver your presentation on a USB-Stick the day before your talk is sheduled. A pre-view room will be available for test-runs. We will supply OS X and Windows Laptops for presentations. Available software includes Adobe Acrobat 9, Keynote (OS X), Microsoft Office (Win: 2003 & 2007, OS X: 2008), OpenOffice 3.1 as well as Quicktime and common audio/video codecs. For any special requirements please contact us under

Poster Sessions

The poster session is and has always been a vital part of the meeting. All abstracts not selected for oral presentations will be on display as posters during the entire meeting to give ample time for informal discussions among students, senior scientists from academia and industry. The maximum allowed size for a poster is 120cm height by 90cm width (=47 x 35 inches).

ABC2012 Young Investigator Awards

All abstracts submitted by graduate students or postdoctoral fellows as first authors are subject to scientific evaluation by selected SAB members. The best abstracts will be awarded a cash prize, the "ABC2012 Young Investigator Award" at the end of the conference.